Ларисса + Винисиус – история любви на расстоянии

Поделиться в facebook
Поделиться в twitter
Поделиться в linkedin
Поделиться в pinterest
Поделиться в whatsapp

Давным-давно…

The year was 1998, I was 4 years old, and my family lived in Itu, Brazil. My dad was the Youth Department Leader of the South Brazilian Union, and we often spent time with the Union Auditor’s family. The Auditor had three sons (the eldest was just a few months older than I), and the four of us regularly played and spent time together, until one day my family moved to serve in the United States and then Canada.

Десять лет спустя, когда существовал MSN*, я была в сети, когда появилось новое окошко в чате. Это был старший сын ревизора, Винисиус. Он хотел узнать о своей тете и ее семье, которая недавно переехала в Канаду и проживала у нас. Хорошо ли они доехали? Как они поживают? Я ответила на эти вопросы, но общаться мы продолжали следующие семь лет через MSN, электронные письма, Orkut**, Facebook и др. Он в Бразилии, а я в Канаде.

*an early version of a messenger app, but on our computers because we didn’t even have smartphones back then…I know!!
**a social media platform, contemporary of MySpace and Facebook that is now long gone.

Тот первый год (2008), мы могли часами говорить по MSN каждый день и он вскоре стал любимой частью моей рутины. Интернет обеспечил меня дружбой со многими людьми, но с Вини все было по-другому. После школы я с нетерпением ожидала наших бесед, и не имело значения, сколько окошек в MSN открывалось одновременно, его окошко всегда имело приоритет.

teens in the early 2000s

В декабре того года моя семья поехала в Бразилию и мой отец проповедовал на молодежной конференции в Куритибе – на этой конференции Вини также присутствовал. Это впервые мы встретились после онлайн общения и в течение всей конференции мы вели себя очень стеснительно в компании друг друга.

We continued talking every day when I went home. Relatives started teasing and wiggling eyebrows. But Vini wasn’t a crush I was eager to talk about. I never wrote his name in journals or showed his pictures to my friends. He wasn’t a “maybe”. He was it. He was the mold anyone else would have to conform to fit. He was my “when you know, you know.” He was home.

И все же… нам было по четырнадцать лет.

В начале 2010 года наши беседы начали становиться неинтересными. Я стала больше времени проводить в библиотеке, читая книги о рисовании, фотографии и классическом кино Голливуда. Я увлекалась каждым фильмом с Диной Дурбин. Моя семья и я впервые поехала в Калифорнию, а затем в Италию. Там было все меньше времени для ежедневных чатов в MSN.

В 2011 году моя семья переехала в другое место Канады, и к тому времени все замерло и мы поддерживали связь с людьми только через Facebook. Вини и я отправляли сообщения друг другу по Messenger: Я напишу ему в один день, он ответит на другой, затем я отвечу на следующий день… Довольно прохладно! Никто из нас не хотел слишком сильно увлекаться.

Но каждый раз, когда происходило что-то волнующее, я писала именно ему. Он был со мной во время моих экзаменов по плаванию и спасанию. Он планировал учиться в ветеринарном колледже после выпуска, поэтому я советовала ему пройти практику в местной вет клинике. Он так и сделал.

И во время этих бесед… что-то изменилось. Нечто очень реальное. Слишком реальное.

В 2012 году мы поехали в Бразилию на еще одну молодежную конференцию. Ему как раз исполнилось 18 лет, и я купила ему в подарок жилетку для ветеринарной лаборатории. Но я избегала его в течение всей конференции, всегда проводя время с друзьями. Я знала, что это наконец произошло. Он был готов к более глубокой дружбе, чем раньше. И мне вдруг стало страшно.

Мне нравилась наша дружба. Она была всем для меня! Зачем рисковать и усложнять все?!

В последние часы мероприятия Вини нашел меня и сказал, что у него что-то есть для меня. Я попыталась сменить тему, подарив ему жилетку и поздравляя с днем рождения. Он передал мне книгу и мы уехали с конференции.

Первые несколько страниц книги содержали тексты песен, которые мы пересылали друг другу за время нашего онлайн общения, шутками, модными высказываниями и стихотворениями. Остальные страницы были вырезаны, и в отверстие было вставлено длинное письмо. Я не буду посвящать вас в сентиментальные детали письма, достаточно будет сказать, что оно требовало ответа. Я попросила немного времени.

Мы вновь начали общаться каждый день. Я послала ему email, расхваливая его в первый день его «взрослой» работы и он заверял меня, что все будет хорошо вечером перед моим первым днем в университете. Наконец, летом 2013 года, наши отношения стали «официальными» и это никого не удивило.

Спустя три года наших отношений на расстоянии мы получили степень бакалавра в наших учебных учреждениях и поженились на маленькой, уютной церемонии, на которой присутствовало 300 друзей и родственников.

Так или иначе, уже прошло четыре года с 17 июля 2016 года. Та желтая жилетка все еще лежит в нашем шкафу, наша однажды пустая квартира теперь заполнена разными вещами и воспоминаниями, и я знаю, что я самая счастливая девушка, так как могу вести домашнее хозяйство и проводить вечеринки с ночевкой с моим лучшим другом. Четыре года прошло, а наша история любви только начинается.

1 комментарий к “Larissa + Vinícius – A Long Distance Love Story”

Оставьте комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *

Girl writes in journal
The Girl Writes - это пространство, созданное женщинами для женщин. Все с точки зрения веры. Нет необходимости в адаптации. Узнайте больше.

Связанные должности

ru_RU

Larissa + Vinícius – A Long Distance Love Story

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp

Once upon a time…

The year was 1998, I was 4 years old, and my family lived in Itu, Brazil. My dad was the Youth Department Leader of the South Brazilian Union, and we often spent time with the Union Auditor’s family. The Auditor had three sons (the eldest was just a few months older than I), and the four of us regularly played and spent time together, until one day my family moved to serve in the United States and then Canada.

Ten years later, back when MSN* was a thing, I was online when a new chat window popped up. It was the Auditor’s eldest son, Vinícius. He wanted to know about his aunt and her family who had recently moved to Canada and stayed with us. Had they arrived well? How were they doing? I answered the questions, but the conversation lasted for another seven years through MSN, emails, Orkut**, Facebook, etc. Him in Brazil, me in Canada.

*an early version of a messenger app, but on our computers because we didn’t even have smartphones back then…I know!!
**a social media platform, contemporary of MySpace and Facebook that is now long gone.

That first year (2008), we spent hours talking on MSN every day, and he soon became a favorite part of my routine. The Internet gave me many friendships, but Vini’s was different. Our talks were what I looked forward to every day after school, and no matter how many MSN chats were open at the same time, his was always priority.

teens in the early 2000s

That December my family went to Brazil, and my father spoke at a youth conference in Curitiba—a youth conference Vini was also attending. It was the first time we met after reconnecting online, and we spent the whole event very and extremely shyly in each other’s company.

We continued talking every day when I went home. Relatives started teasing and wiggling eyebrows. But Vini wasn’t a crush I was eager to talk about. I never wrote his name in journals or showed his pictures to my friends. He wasn’t a “maybe”. He was it. He was the mold anyone else would have to conform to fit. He was my “when you know, you know.” He was home.

And yet…we were fourteen.

In early 2010 our conversations started to become stale. I started spending more time at the library, checking out books on drawing, photography, and classical Hollywood cinema. I binge-watched every Deanna Durbin movie. My family and I went to California for the first time and then to Italy. There was less and less time for daily MSN chats.

In 2011 my family moved across Canada, and by then everything else was dead and Facebook was how we kept in touch with people. Vini and I sent each other messages on Messenger: I’d message one day, he’d reply the next, then I’d reply the other day… Keeping it cool! Neither one wanting to be the overeager keener.

But every time anything exciting happened, he was the message I had to send. He was with me through my swimming and lifeguarding exams. His plan was to go to vet school after graduation, so I encouraged him to get an internship at the local vet clinic. Which he did.

And during those conversations…something shifted. Something very real. Too real.

In 2012, we went to Brazil for yet another youth conference. His 18th birthday had just passed, and I bought him a vet lab coat as a gift. But I avoided him throughout the entire event, sticking close to my friends. I knew it had finally happened. He was ready for a deeper friendship than what we already had. And, suddenly, that was really scary.

I loved our friendship. It was everything! Why risk complicating it?!

In the last hours of the event, Vini found me and said he had something for me. I attempted to change the subject with the lab coat and birthday wishes. He handed me a book, and we left the event.

The first few pages of the book were filled with lyrics to songs we’d traded over years of online chats, inside jokes, cheesy lines, and poems. The rest of the pages were cut and inside the slots was nestled a lengthy letter. I’ll spare you the sappy details of the letter, suffice it to say it required a response. I asked for time.

Our conversations became daily again. I sent him an email hyping him up on his first day at his “grown-up” job, and he assured me everything would be fine the night before my first day at university. Finally, in the summer of 2013, we became “official” to no one’s surprise.

Three years of long-distance later we finished our B.A.s and got married in a small, intimate ceremony with over 3oo friends and family members.

Somehow, it’s been four years since July 17, 2016. The lab coat is yellowing in the back of our closet (please DM me if you’re in vet school), our once empty apartment is full of things and memories, and I know I am the luckiest girl to be able to keep house and have nightly sleepovers with my best friend. It’s been four years, and our love story is still only beginning.

1 thought on “Larissa + Vinícius – A Long Distance Love Story”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Girl writes in journal
The Girl Writes is a space created by women for women. Everything in a faith-based perspective. No adaptations necessary. Learn more.

Related Posts

Carved by God

“But he knows the way that I take; when he has tested me, I will come forth as gold,” Job 23:10. When Adam and Eve

Read More »
en_US
ru_RU pt_BR es_PE en_US